Users

Overview

Two types of users can log into Prismatic systems:

  • Organization users are team members who work at your company. They are responsible for building, deploying, and supporting integrations for your customers. They might include your developers, devops engineers, project managers, support technicians, etc.

    Organization users have permission to view information about your customers and their users, instances, and alert monitors. Depending on their role, some organization users have permission to manage customer resources, as well.

    A full list of organization-level permissions can be found below.

  • Customer users are users at your customers' sites. Customer users' permissions are limited in scope. They can view and manage users and instances deployed to them, but they cannot view your other customers' resources.

Organization Users

Organization users are team members who work at your company. They are responsible for building, deploying, and supporting integrations for your customers, and can be granted a set of permissions based on the role they are assigned.

Organization-level Roles

OwnerAdminIntegratorGuest
View Customersxxxx
View Customer Usersxxxx
View Customer Instancesxxxx
View Alert Monitorsxxxx
Manage Customersxxx
Manage Customer Usersxxx
Manage Componentsxxx
Manage Instancesxxx
Manage Integrationsxxx
Manage Organization Usersxx
Manage Organizationx
Manage Billingx

Managing Organization Users

Only organization users with admin or owner roles can manage organization users.

To manage organization users in the web app, click Settings on the left-hand sidebar, and select the Team Members tab.

Listing Organization Users

Organization users are listed under the Team Members tab. You can filter what users are shown by typing the name of a user into the search bar on the top of the page. You can also filter by email address by clicking the Filter link to the right of the search bar.

Adding Organization Users

From the Team Members tab, click the + Team Member button in the upper-right. Select an appropriate role for the new user (see above for permissions), and provide a name and email address for the user.

After creating the new user, they will receive a confirmation email with a link to set up their profile and set their password.

Changing an Organization User's Role, Name, Avatar Picture or Phone Number

From the Team Members tab, click the name of a user. You can change the role of the user under the Permissions tab, or change the user's name, avatar picture, or phone number under the Settings tab.

Deleting Organization Users

From the Team Members tab, click the name of a user. Select the Settings tab within that user's page and click the Delete Account link on the bottom of the page. Confirm the deletion by clicking the REMOVE ACCOUNT button.

Customer Users

Customer users are users who work at your customer sites. They are granted permissions to manage only the users and instances of integrations that have been deployed to them.

Customer-level Roles

AdminMember
View Customer Usersxx
View Instancesxx
Manage Instancesx
Manage Customer Usersx
Manage Customerx

Managing Customer Users

Only customer users with the admin role or organization users with integrator, admin, or owner roles can manage customer users.

To manage customers users in the web app, click Customers on the left-hand sidebar, select a customer from that list and open the customer's Users tab.

Listing Customer Users

Users for a specific customer are listed on the main customer's Users tab. You can filter what users are shown by typing the name of a user into the search bar on the top of the page. You can also filter by email address by clicking the Filter link to the right of the search bar.

Adding a Customer User

From the customer's Users tab, click the + User button in the upper-right. Select an appropriate role for the new user (see above for permissions), and provide a name and email address for the user.

Changing a Customer User's Role, Name, Avatar Picture or Phone Number

From the customer's Users tab, click the name of a user. Like organization users, you can change the role of the user under the Permissions tab, or the user's name, avatar picture, or phone number under the Settings tab.

Deleting a Customer User

From the specific customer's Users tab, click the name of a user. Open the Settings tab, and click the Delete Account button on the bottom of the page. Confirm the account removal by clicking the REMOVE ACCOUNT button.

Searching All Customer Users

You can search for users on a per-customer basis from the customer's Users tab. To search users of all customers, click the Users link on the left-hand sidebar. To search for a user by name, enter their name in the search bar on the top of the page. To search for a user by email, click the Filter link on the top of the page.

Managing Your Own User Profile

You can update your name, password, phone number, avatar image, and light/dark mode preferences. Start by clicking the icon on the top-right side of the screen. All user profile preferences are available in the Password and Settings tabs.

Updating Your Password

After clicking the icon on the top-right side of the screen, select the Password tab. Enter your current password, and then select a new password. Your password must have:

  • At least 8 characters
  • At least one upper case letter
  • At least one lower case letter
  • At least one number

Resetting a Forgotten Password

If you have forgotten your password, navigate to https://app.prismatic.io. If you are not logged out, do so by clicking the icon on the top-right side of the screen and selecting Logout.

Click LOG IN, enter your email address, and then select Don't remember your password?. Enter your email address and then select SEND EMAIL >. You will be emailed a password reset link where you can create a new password.

Updating Your Name, Avatar Picture, or Phone Number

After clicking the icon on the top-right side of the screen, select the Settings tab. You can alter your name or phone number from this screen. If you provide a phone number, it can be used by your team members for monitoring and alerting purposes. If you alter your avatar image, the image you upload will be resized and cropped to 500 x 500 pixels. Transparent PNG avatar images tend to look the best.

Setting Light or Dark Mode

By default, the web app will present light or dark mode so that it matches your operating system settings. If you would like to override the light/dark mode setting, click the icon on the top-right side of the screen, select the Settings tab. Uncheck the Sync light/dark mode with OS setting checkbox, and toggle light / dark mode.

Light / dark mode settings follow your user, so if you set a preference on one computer, that preference will be remembered if you log in from another computer.

Last updated on