Skip to main content

Integration Marketplace

As an organization user, you can configure and deploy instances of integrations to your customers. This page outlines another way to deploy instances of integrations to your customers - let your customers activate the integrations themselves.

Disambiguating "integrations" and "instances"

For organization users, an integration refers to a general, productized and published integration that can be configured and deployed to multiple customers. An instance of an integration is a copy of the integration that has been configured and deployed a specific customer.

For your customers, instance doesn't have any meaning - they either have an integration or they don't. So, when customers log in to Prismatic they're presented phrases like "activate this integration", or "configure this integration". A customer "activates" an "integration" - which is the same as deploying an "instance" in your lingo as an organization user.

Preparing an Integration for the Integration Marketplace#

If you'd like to configure an integration to appear in the integration marketplace for your customers, follows these steps:

  1. First, publish your integration from the integration designer.

  2. Next, open your integration's marketplace configuration page. You can either:

    1. Click the Settings link on the left-hand side of the integration designer and choose Marketplace Configuration. Click the RECONFIGURE button that appears in the upper-right corner of the next screen. Or,
    2. Select the Integration Marketplace link on the left-hand sidebar of the main screen, click + Integration, and select the integration you'd like to add.
  3. Select the version of your integration that you would like to appear in the integration marketplace and provide a nice overview for your integration to explain to users what your integration does:

    Toggle Customer Deployable on if you would like your customers to be able to activate the integration themselves. If Customer Deployable is off, your integration will appear in the integration marketplace with a note instructing your customers to contact your company to activate the integration:

    Click the UPDATE button when you are ready for the integration to be available in the integration marketplace.

To change any details about your integration marketplace offering (like updating the integration version or overview text), open the Integration Marketplace link on the left-hand sidebar again and select the integration you want to modify.

Add an icon to your integration

To make your integration look attractive in the integration marketplace, you can add an icon to your integration.

Preparing the Configuration Experience#

Integrations are driven by config variables. As you develop your integration, you create a series of config variables and credentials that are required by the steps in your integration. We recommend grouping related config variables together (for example, putting all Amazon S3 variables together), and adding appropriate headers between groups of config variables. This will give your customers a richer deployment experience.

You can choose which config variables customers are allowed to configure when you create the config variables:

This is handy if you have a config variable or credential that you would generally like to use for all of your customers, but you don't want your customers to see the variable or credential's value (say you have an API key you use as an organization, but don't want your customers to see it).

If a config variable is not customer-configurable, then the variable's Default Value is used.

Set default values for non-customer-configurable variables

All non-customer-configurable config variables need default values. If one does not have a default value, the integration won't be deployable by your customers. Instead, your customers will get a message when they attempt to activate the integration instructing them to contact your company, and your team will need to set a value for that missing config variable.

Activating Integrations as a Customer#

Once you have an integration in your marketplace, customers can activate the integration to themselves. The customer's view of Prismatic differs from an organization user's view - a customer can only see integrations, credentials, users, etc., that are specific to them.

As a customer user, open the Integration Marketplace link on the left-hand sidebar. Integrations that have been activated are marked with a green check mark:

A customer can activate a new integration by clicking into an integration that hasn't been activated (no green check mark). They will be greeted with a popover with the name, description, and overview of the integration:

Once a customer has clicked ACTIVATE, they are brought to the integration configuration screen:

Your customer can now enter values for config variables and credentials, and click ACTIVATE when they are finished. They can test the integration by clicking into the Test tab, and view logs and execution data by clicking into the Logs and Executions tabs.

Webhook URL(s) are listed at the bottom of the page so they can be used to configure third-party apps and services.

Deactivating an Integration as a Customer#

To remove an integration as a customer, open the integration from the Integration Marketplace page, and click Deactivate Integration on the bottom of the page.

Supporting and Modifying Deployed Instances#

To modify an activated integration as a customer, open the integration from the Integration Marketplace page again and click Reconfigure. Make changes to configuration and click SAVE to save changes.

As an organization user, you can modify an integration that a customer activated as you would any other deployed instance. You also have the ability to modify config variables that are marked non-customer-configurable.

Removing an Integration from the Integration Marketplace#

To remove an integration from the integration marketplace, open the Integration Marketplace page from the left-hand sidebar. Select the integration you would like to remove, and then click Remove Integration on the bottom of the page.

Activated Instances will not be removed

If you remove an integration from the integration marketplace, instances of the integration that customers have activated will not automatically be removed. You can safely remove an integration marketplace offering without affecting existing deployments, and instances will still show up on the Instances page.

Embedding Marketplace in an Application#

Marketplace can be embedded into your application. See our Embedding Marketplace article for more details.